Decoy numbers and species

A waterfowl discussion forum focusing on Kansas duck hunting.

Moderators: T Man, Mallyard, dukhntr, yellowlab

Decoy numbers and species

Postby Paul-andrew » Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:42 am

Hey guys, I posted a thread similar to this in the decoy section also, but I want to know specifically what Kansans are using. I'm buying my first decoys soon and I'm wondering how many is essential. I read of people having dozens and dozens upon dozens of decoys... And seeing how I'm just starting out in this I can't justify spending very much... Also what species are you all using?
Paul-andrew
hunter

Re: Decoy numbers and species

Postby Max4Holly » Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:28 pm

Take What I do with a grain of salt but this year I have changed how I set my spread I usually use about 8 floating mallards usually 5 drakes and 4 hens and 4 teal floaters. I also use 6 full body geese and a dozen full body mallards on the bank w hen possible, I use my own judgement on any given day weather or not I should switch out full bodies for floaters, scratch the geese or add more floaters. I've killed most species of duck in my area with this spread but I've killed ducks over a dozen mallards with 4 of those on a jerk string. I'm still a novice when it comes to ducks but I've done quite a bit of research on spreads and tried different things. I see guys with dozens of decoys in huge horse shoe shaped spreads sit there all day and have ducks flare all day, I have found success with just throwing them out there close together depending on What the wind is doing... how many times have you seen a hundred ducks on a lake in a huge u shape for other ducks to land???
Max4Holly
hunter

Postby mudpack » Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:29 pm

I have all the species of ducks (except scaup; none of those). I use them all at one time or another.