Hunting open water on a flat without a boat...

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

Postby troutman561 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:08 pm

Hey guys, this is my 3rd season duck hunting. I have really only hunted puddle ducks but have shot some divers that have decoyed up to my spreads. Now that I live in the Tampa Bay area, the only consistent duck numbers I have found have been in the bay. Now, the blue bills like sitting in open water as you all know, and they typically sit at the edges of these flats I have in mind. I have a skiff to get me there, but they are not going to the decoys with a 16ft white hulled boat sitting 30yds away. Im new to strictly diver hunting so I figured I would ask. I was thinking of setting up a large spread of deeks, and then setting up a chair and myself covered in brush in knee to waist deep water. I don't think these particular birds are hunted hard, but will they decoy to me? I know an "island" of brush isn't too uncommon in the salt but if anyone has any pointers, I'm all ears. Thanks.
troutman561
hunter

Re: Hunting open water on a flat without a boat...

Postby rebelp74 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:21 pm

sounds like your pretty much on track, give it a try and see how it goes.
Indaswamp wrote:
jaysweet3 wrote:Looks a little small.

Dat's what She said....

Underradar wrote:We, the unsigned members of the HH, are not allowed to address such questions. But thank you for asking.
rebelp74
hunter

Postby JCraig12 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:46 pm

Sounds like fun! Give it a try!
2014 season
Duck- 42
Geese- 13
JCraig12
hunter

Postby trigger22 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:35 am

Yes it will work. Set yourself up a little makeshift blind using some brush or even some camo material. I used to hunt a few places just like you describe and I had a portable blind that I built out of aluminum conduit and some camo netting.