need professional help

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

need professional help

Postby FowlLife74 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:15 pm

Hey guys I need a professional taxidermists help I'm mounting my first duck and I'm using the original head. My question is how do i prep the head before using.
Thanks, Neal
FowlLife74
hunter

Re: need professional help

Postby Cougar125 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:26 pm

Well, I'm not a pro, but I've got a general idea.

At the base of the skull, you need to cut a slit about an inch long down the back of the neck so you can squeeze the skull out to get the brains, meat, and fat off/out. Afterwords you put the head back in and stitch it back up. Not really much more I can tell ya.
There are no ducks in the desert!
Cougar125
hunter

Re: need professional help

Postby Pete-pec » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:34 am