Can You Tell Me About Kellogg Bloodlines?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Can You Tell Me About Kellogg Bloodlines?

Postby Maddog10 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:58 pm

So you guys may remember me posting a couple weeks ago about having luck with non-hunting bloodlines. Well at the time I was looking at picking up a free backyard bred puppy, but with some persuasion from the experts on here I continued my search and have come across what I think may be a potential winner.

The pup I'm looking at is a black male and a direct quote from the seller is that he comes from "Kellogg and Champion bloodlines." I contacted the woman personally and she told me that the father is from Kellogg bloodlines and has multiple points accrued. She also stated that the dam has not hunted but her pedigree has multiple champions from her grandmother back.

As you know, I'm new to the hunting dog scene so I was just hoping someone can lay this out in layman's terms for me. I tried doing some searching of Kellogg's bloodlines and came across a little bit, but I'm still not sure how great it really is, or if it is great at all. She is asking $400 for the males. I asked about health guarantees and she stated that she guarantees the pups for 48 hours to allow the buyer to have the dog checked by their personal veterinarian and if there are any issue she will take the pup back. This sort of raised a flag for me but she claims the reason for no hip/eye certifications are so she doesn't have to raise the prices on the pups. What do you guys think? I don't want to make a $400 mistake here but if everything is as she says it could be a good dog for the price, right? Talk to me fellas... Thanks.
Maddog10
hunter

Re: Can You Tell Me About Kellogg Bloodlines?

Postby copterdoc » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:09 pm

Run away.
copterdoc
hunter

Postby cn44 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:29 pm