"Off the Flyway" Duck hunting

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, Illinois-Ducker, huntall6

"Off the Flyway" Duck hunting

Postby luie b » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:09 pm

Kinda have a unique question here. I want to hunt a few places that are what people would consider "off the flyway." They're about 15-20 miles away from the Mississippi but the area has a very good sized creek and the area has a lot of farm ponds. The creek I spoke of that is about a mile away holds about 100 or so wood ducks in the first half of the season and even a few flocks of mallards lurk around there. I have a few ponds in this area that I can hunt that I've never tried before. I know there are ducks in the area, but not specifically on my property but neighboring properties and I want to attract them to our property. I plan on planting millet on both of these holes and even thought of various other things to attract more mallards and woodies. If I get in my crops planted and everything do you think being "off the flyway" would be hard to attract more ducks? I know when ducks get stale around here they seek new places to feed and they scatter to the wind but I'm thinking I can attract ducks to our property by just a few bunches so I can scrap a duck or two when the hunting on my other spots closer to the flyway get slow. You guys have any experience with decent hunting spots "off the flyway?" And you don't have to give away any location details I don't aim at stealing spots.haha
**2014-2015 Illinois Waterfowl Season**
Blue-winged teal - 14
luie b
hunter

Re: "Off the Flyway" Duck hunting

Postby jaysweet3 » Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:33 am

Most off hunting is off of the X. Planting food is a good idea, but it may take a season or two, for the ducks to really commit. If the food takes, maybe lay off of it for a year.
The road to diabetes will be sweet.
jaysweet3
hunter