Is this a great forum, or what?

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Is this a great forum, or what?

Postby Frank Lopez » Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:26 pm

I've been mounting birds for 45 years. Yeah, pretty much old school, but it worked. I'd done a few ducks and other waterfowl here and there, but never really cared to because of all the extra work. But in the two years I've been reading this forum and picking up tips, my interest in waterfowl has really been rejuvinated! A special standing ovation for Dux, the Waterfowler and of course Pete. And all the others who've contributed tips and tricks that have made mounting waterfowl so much easier.

Following Pete's instructions and a little "backyard ingeniuity, I built a fleshing wheel. This single machine has simplified the fleshing process so much that mounting waterfowl is a breeze. The old scrapers, scissors and scalples are in the trash, for the most part. And the hair dryer trick saved a ton of work! (I don't have a tumbler, nor the inclination to build one when the wife's hair dryer is easily "stolen" :wink: )

Like Pete always says, there's more than one way to skin a cat, but learning all these new methods has been fun and helpful.

Thanks again!

Frank
I feel slightly sorry for a man who has never patterned his gun, who has no idea how far his chosen load will retain killing penetration. But I'm extremely sorry for the ducks he shoots at beyond the killing range of his gun and load - Bob Brister
Frank Lopez
hunter

Re: Is this a great forum, or what?

Postby SPatrick » Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:28 pm

Frank did you mount the black duck in your profile pic?
Shaun Patrick
Avery Prostaff
HEVI-Shot Prostaff
SPatrick
State Moderator

Postby Frank Lopez » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:41 pm