Pekin Lake?

Learn and share Illinois river duck hunting with other duck hunters. Have fun and tell your best hunting jokes about Illinois.

Moderators: lostpup, MM, Illinois-Ducker, huntall6

Pekin Lake?

Postby jscheirer » Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:02 pm

Hello, I'm a college student and just looking for more places to hunt in the area. I'm interested in Pekin Lake. I know the river has to be up for there to be water in there, but in normal conditions could I get a 12 foot jon into the lake? Is it marshy out there or mostly timber situations? Thanks for any and all input you guys have.
jscheirer
hunter

Re: Pekin Lake?

Postby likesbigspreads » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:39 pm

Need to access it from the river so a 12' jon would be pretty small. There are a few timber holes, the rest are willow sloughs and along a couple hundred yard wide lake.
likesbigspreads
hunter

Postby jscheirer » Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:17 pm

Ok, I'm just looking at putting in just south of the lake. I think it is technically the Pekin Boat Club area. Even if I kept the boat close to shore would it be a tough ride? Maybe a 14' with a longtail would be ok?
jscheirer
hunter

Postby likesbigspreads » Mon May 20, 2013 2:42 pm

jscheirer wrote:Ok, I'm just looking at putting in just south of the lake. I think it is technically the Pekin Boat Club area. Even if I kept the boat close to shore would it be a tough ride? Maybe a 14' with a longtail would be ok?

If you are using the boat club you would not really need to be in the river but a few hundred yards, so you should be ok. I know the river has to be higher than normal to access certain parts of the lake.
likesbigspreads
hunter

Postby jscheirer » Mon May 20, 2013 3:08 pm

Have you hunted there before? Are there alot of people who hunt it if there's enough water?
jscheirer
hunter

Postby likesbigspreads » Wed May 22, 2013 9:13 am

jscheirer wrote:Have you hunted there before? Are there alot of people who hunt it if there's enough water?