How to come about Goose Hunting Property

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

How to come about Goose Hunting Property

Postby will1515 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:26 pm

I am new to waterfowl hunting after this season and have been able to find some good places to hunt ducks, I am trying to get some places to hunt geese near me around Kansas City Missouri. Wondering if anyone knows of any place or knows how to acquire a place to goose hunt.
will1515
hunter

Re: How to come about Goose Hunting Property

Postby dsm16428 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 3:41 pm

Get in your vehicle, drive around looking for geese, find where they're roosting, feeding, loafing, stop and ask landowner for permission.

THEN...

Treat those landowners like you'd treat your own MOTHER!! Don't ever disrespect them, bend over backwards to help them in any way you can when you can and never...EVER do ANYTHING to their land or belongings that you have to think about for more than 2 seconds if it would piss them off. If for half a second you think say driving in a field or digging down to hide your blinds, or even bringing more hunters than you originally aggreed upon would upset the landowner, DON"T. Ask them FIRST before you do ANYTHING other than just hunt. Good luck. :beer:
Big Al's "Take-Em" Style Silhoutte Decoy Pro-Staff.
N.O. Outdoors Guide Service, President and CEO. "You try harder so we don't have to."
Don't do anything you wouldn't want to admit to the paramedics after.
dsm16428
hunter

Postby Takeem406 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:10 am

That's what I do.

I start a few weeks before opening day and start scouting. By now the geese are starting their routines. Then when I'm on furlough during December and I'm able to hunt daily (possession limit allowing) I'll alternate between scouting and hunting. If I find a new field on a new farm, I'll stop and ask.