What species to expect in southern Maine?

A place to discuss Maine hunting. Topics include Maine's reknowned sea duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, Dogman

What species to expect in southern Maine?

Postby uplandguy1100 » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:54 pm

I'm new to duck hunting, and I was wondering what species I should expect to see in southern Maine.
I'm hunting Inland in a river and a maybe a small pond.
All I've ever seen is mallards and woodies, I've seen common and hooded mergansers on square but I'm hunting like 30 minutes away from square.

and do we have alot of coots in Maine?
uplandguy1100
hunter

Re: What species to expect in southern Maine?

Postby 733SubDucker » Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:26 am

OK. At least you asked. Make sure you get a waterfowl guide book. You can even find these online. Get out there and try to start identifying ducks now, even at a local park. Learn how different ducks fly.

In early season, you will see Wood Ducks and Teal (Green Wing / Blue Wing) BW Teal are the first to leave.

Throughout the season you will mostly encounter Mallards and Black Ducks. Ring Necks are a possibility for you as well. You will see plenty of Mergansers (lawndarts, lizards) as well. Some people enjoy shooting them and with significant effort they are palletable, but many avoid them.

Of course there are many more infrequent species including: Pintail, Shoveler, Widgeon, Scaup, etc... And certainly you would see sea ducks at the coast.

Remember that birds will be in "eclipse" plumage early in the season.

Your biggest concern will be to only shoot 1 Black Duck! They are very common in Maine but their overall numbers are well below long term average, hence the low limit.

This process will be fun!!! Its not hard when you get the hang of it. Good luck!
733SubDucker
hunter

Postby R-Factor » Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:59 am