CT Hunter Headed North

A place to discuss Maine hunting. Topics include Maine's reknowned sea duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, Dogman

CT Hunter Headed North

Postby Easternflywayhunter61 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:44 pm

Hey guys, I am new to the chat and had a question about hunting northern maine. i have a opportunity to hunt a friends farm in the northwestern corner of maine near the canadian border. He has fields and a river on his property. planning on heading up for the october opener. Any advice and/or forcasts for that area at that time? We already have the spots just anxious to know what to expect.
Easternflywayhunter61
hunter

Re: CT Hunter Headed North

Postby Seaductor » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:04 pm

We're seeing a lot of ducks this year. Way better than last year. As far as NW Maine goes, it's a big area and there is some diverse habitat there. Not knowing where you are going doesn't help much. Field hunting that early will depend on what the field has in it and what the state of the harvest is. Basically you haven't provided enough info for any of us to provide you with decent intel!!

Sent from my XT556 using Tapatalk 2
When you get to be my age, it's always a race to see if you'll piss inside or outside of your waders!!
Seaductor
hunter

Postby R-Factor » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:48 pm

Easternflywayhunter61 wrote:Hey guys, I am new to the chat and had a question about hunting northern maine. i have a opportunity to hunt a friends farm in the northwestern corner of maine near the canadian border. He has fields and a river on his property. planning on heading up for the october opener. Any advice and/or forcasts for that area at that time? We already have the spots just anxious to know what to expect.

Are we talking "true northwest Maine"- as in St. John River/Town of Allagash Region?
R-Factor
hunter

Postby hickunit » Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:01 pm

Where exactly are you going to be....I am in Northern Maine....Live in Fort Fairfield....
hickunit
hunter