im new to goose calling

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

im new to goose calling

Postby DUCKBAKER » Wed Dec 29, 2004 10:34 pm

what call or calls should i get, id like to get a call that would call multiple species of geese is this possible. and whats a good company?
DUCKBAKER
hunter

Postby hawkdog » Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:34 pm

You won't find a call for different goose species. Pick your species and by a call for it. Don't go cheap. Plan on spending 40-160 dollars depending on what you go with. Foiles Migrators, WingLock, Tim Grounds, Sean Mann, and Fred Zink are some good brands that you should be able to find pretty easy.
hawkdog
hunter

Postby plainsman » Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:01 pm

I only use 2 goose calls, a Winglock delrin and a Heartlands Pip-squeek. I feel confident that with these two calls I've pretty much got all the bases covered :cool:
Causing permenant flight delays
Callin' 'em in and knockin' 'em down
plainsman
hunter

Postby plainsman » Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:01 pm

Oooopps.....double post :withstupid:
plainsman
hunter

Postby DUCKBAKER » Fri Dec 31, 2004 12:40 pm

whats the difference between derlin and acrylic? usualy derlin is cheaper id like to buy the derlin but is acrylic and wood better sounding
DUCKBAKER
hunter

Postby plainsman » Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:22 pm

Delrin has a mellower sound that acrylic.Wood is even more mellow. I only use delrin for my calls....tough as nails, tone doesn't change due to weather[wood does] and a nicer tone than acrylic, IMO. Delrin isn't quit as loud as acrylic, but if you go to higher pitched call [pip- sqeek] it increases volume and the distance your call will carry.
plainsman
hunter

Postby duckbuster » Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:32 pm