Grassing up an Aquapod

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Grassing up an Aquapod

Postby aaronoto » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:22 pm

Purchased a new 10' Aquapod Sport for this upcoming season. I've only taken it out for one paddle so far, but overall I'm very pleased with it. I'm by no means an expert as grassing boats/blinds- this was my first go at it, but I thought I'd detail the progress in case anyone has a small sneak boat they are waiting to grass.

I started with some green plastic fencing and laid it out over the boat to get the correct length. This fencing had 1" holes, but they were a little too small to easily loop the grass through. I'd look for something with a little larger holes to make it easier to loop through.
DSC01632.jpg

Next I zip tied the fencing to the shock cord stubble strap and the roughed out the shape to match the hull. Instead of cutting out the cockpit I initially left two poor man blind doors. I think they would have worked OK, but given that they didn't really hinge and I wanted cockpit space without fighting them I ended up cutting them off.
DSC01633.jpg

DSC01635.jpg

Bulk raffia is a great deal, but I didn't need that much and I really didn't want to deal with dying it, so I went with the Avery Killerweed All Terrain grass. I mixed all the colors together, but the grey quickly stood out like a sore thumb, so I pulled that back out as best I could.
DSC01638.jpg

DSC01639.jpg
aaronoto
hunter

Re: Grassing up an Aquapod

Postby aaronoto » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:25 pm

Now came the fun part... Start tying your bundles. It took me hours to complete the entire boat.
DSC01640.jpg

The completed boat. Looks good, but a little too bright.
DSC01644.jpg

Hit it with some Krylon Flat Camo in Brown and it's looking a lot better.
DSC01645.jpg

And she's all ready to go!
DSC01648.jpg
aaronoto
hunter

Postby orphanedcowboy » Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:09 am