FL Waterfowl 101

Discuss Florida duck hunting with other hunters alike.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, badandy970, Belly up dux, BigBend

FL Waterfowl 101

Postby whaknstak » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:55 am

Ok guys, due to the constant influx of new hunters to Florida looking for advice on duck hunting, I propose we put it all here, and simply direct new members to this thread. Maybe a mod will pin it as a sticky??

With that said, post up basic tips relating to Florida waterfowling. Things you you learned, or little tricks that have helped you be successful over the years. DO NOT post specific places or water bodies. We can help new members out and only have to type it once.

Post em up!
"Do you care about freedom? Dreams may have inspired it, and wishes prompted it, but only war and weapons have made it yours."

Col Jeff Cooper
whaknstak
hunter

Re: FL Waterfowl 101

Postby bdub » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:44 am

Im no expert by anymeans but, I have learned that when scouting and there are no birds its always good to find smaller holes that have things like hydrilla and dollar bonnetts in the area. When scouting for teal a couple weeks ago I didnt see the first bird but I found a spot with tons of hydrilla and dollar bonnets and when i got there opening day we had a few good many of teal try to get to that spot.
bdub
hunter

Postby Coonrod » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:55 am

Buy a Thermacell
Palm fronds are the best camo
Don't call unless you know what you're doing
Coonrod
hunter

Postby dogyak » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:12 am

When getting decoys , don't get the Mallard :no: . Get a 1 doz of teal and 1 of coots . In Florida , the coots really give confidence to the other ducks . This is really all you need for decoys . Don't brother with a duck call , get a teal whistle and learn to use it and DON'T over call . :clapping:
dogyak
hunter

Postby Broken Paddle » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:15 am