Stockton Lake - Springfield Area

Duck hunting in Missouri topics of discussion are found here. Also MO is becoming one of the top Snow goose hunting destinations.

Moderators: SPatrick, 870shooter, birddog crazy

Stockton Lake - Springfield Area

Postby barin300 » Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:14 am

I am new to the Springfield area and I am used to hunting swamp/marsh areas in the southeast. Haven't really seen any type of public land like that up here. From what ive been told when the weather is decently cold there are ducks to be killed at stockton lake? Is there any reason someone couldn't get back in the far arms of the lake and just rig up a blind out of brush? Or do most people hunt over the more open water? Also, are there any other places not too awfully far from Springfield where any of y'all have any luck? Thank you for any info you can give to a lost duck hunter.
barin300
Newb

Re: Stockton Lake - Springfield Area

Postby goodkarmarising » Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:15 pm

Would you like GPS coordinates too? How about a detailed map too?
Only number that matters, retrieves by the pup: 176
Cooper: 15
Proud owner of 2 non hunt trial/field trial fire breathers
goodkarmarising
hunter

Postby BigAL64 » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:59 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :no:
BigAL64
hunter

Postby barin300 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:36 pm

Alright butt, just looking for some tips as far as hunting the area. Go **** yourself.
barin300
Newb

Postby swampchicken » Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:57 pm

Go hunt 4rivers thats more your habitat type. No draw just go hunt in unit3 or unit4.
swampchicken
hunter

Postby swampchicken » Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:57 pm

James River is also a good spot too.
swampchicken
hunter

Postby madmanduck » Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:07 am