artificial vs. real head

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

artificial vs. real head

Postby kyle916 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:44 am

hey guys, going to try my first attempt at taxidermy using a mallard. as a newbie I have been watching all the free videos out there I can. as a first timer, which is easier, using the actual skull or using an artificial one? seems like there are pros and cons to each?
also, do I have to get degreaser, or is washing several times in dawn enough? it's hard to plan it all out in a way, it seems like there are several ways to do things here kind of overwhelmed..
NRA Life Member
CWA Member
DU Member
kyle916
hunter

Re: artificial vs. real head

Postby northzoneguy » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:20 pm

Stick with the real skull and get you some Coleman white gas in a clean bucket and soak it over night then dry it and throw it together . Good luck man
northzoneguy
State Moderator

Postby Pete-pec » Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:27 pm

No offense, but try other techniques as well. I use artificial, and no gas, so there is an alternate method, and I'd never tell you to stick to just one. I might suggest trying it out using the real head for a first duck to get your feet wet, but there are certainly pros and cons to each method. The artificial head in my opinion is cleaner and easier, but the real head will fit like a glove.

Also search this forum, I'm sure you'll find several threads on this exact topic. I know I posted some pics of rebuilt heads, and my method when using the real skull, as well as duxrus, so there is additional information out there.

Read the newbie sticky as well, there is also some pertinent information that may apply before even getting the scalpel out. there is an investment of sorts that will be reqired to do the job adequately. Training is important. However you get it, soak as much in as possible. Take good notes.
Attachments
_cfimg-4893492674831893453.jpg