Merced WWTP

Duck hunting in California topics include: California duck hunting trips, the past hunting seasons, and share information about California duck hunting guides.

Moderators: #1wingnut, duckman2000, PinTeal

Merced WWTP

Postby OffiSur » Sat Oct 26, 2013 6:21 pm

Hello,

I put in for, and won, three dates for a CDFW SHARE Hunt at the Merced Waste Water Treatment Plant the first week in November.

I have only a little waterfowl hunting experience to begin with (self-taught and that’s being generous) and I've never hunted a WWTP before.

I was wondering if any you had any experience at such a place? What concerns should I be aware of? Are the ducks edible?
What tips, pointers or suggestions would you give to help me make the very best of these fortunate opportunities?

Most importantly: Should I feel incredibly lucky that I got back-to-back-to-back dates, or should I be aware that I was the only fool to put in for the draw? I feel that I’m a pretty lucky guy in general, but this seems too good to be true.

I do appreciate you all for taking the time and effort to help a fellow out. Thank you much.
OffiSur
Newb

Re: Merced WWTP

Postby Tyrtruion » Sat Oct 26, 2013 7:35 pm

I would assume all of those questions could be best answered by a dfg warden... (Yes I know it's df&w and they are wildlife secretary's now)
Trust me. 8 hours in a pond with leaky waders, to not fire a single shot... Is still better than work.
Tyrtruion
hunter

Postby AJCsurf » Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:18 pm

I drew opening day and didnt go. There is 6 blinds, there is no cover, and they said you can bring your own pop up blind. :no:

As for edibility, its a mitigation wetland and is no where near the waste water treatment plant.

good luck :thumbsup:
AJCsurf
hunter

Postby Calikev » Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:13 am