Calculating lead distance at various speeds and distance

Main forum for general non waterfowl discussions as well as general duck hunting information about travel, rules and regulations, and other duck hunting info along with the general topics.

Moderators: Tealer, Indaswamp, Dep6, Preacher1011, steve-o, La. Hunter, lostpup, #1wingnut

Calculating lead distance at various speeds and distance

Postby Minneguy » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:31 pm

Hey all! I am studying for finals, and in order to get some practice with dimensional analysis I am calculating lead distance to shoot at ducks flying. If you'd like me to calculate anything I would really like the practice. So far I have calculated the lead distances on wood ducks flyig 30 mph parallel to the shooter as well as at a 30 and 45 degree intersection. I will calculate any species of critter if you'd like and I am planning on creating a chart which I will upload. Just upload the velocity of the shell that you use and a scenario and I will see if I can calculate it out. I am really quite bad at chemistry related math but for some reason calculating stuff with hunting is way easier lol.

Some things to consider, after I calculate the theoretical lead average it takes to have the shot go say 30 yards at 1350 Fps (.0666 seconds which means that a woodie will travel approximately 2.93 feet) , I am going to do all the basic calculations first then I will try to figure in ballistic stuff like the drop distance of the shot, and kinetic energy, the momentum and the speed the shot has decelerated to so I can figure out the actual lead required.
An interesting thing to note, I had a great discussion about aerodynamics with my chem teacher, it turns out blind side may be more aerodynamic than round steel shot due to drag. (If it doesn't tumble) and black cloud is anti science , because the way it is shaped it should fly very erratically. Kinda a cool chem lecture gone off the tracks haha

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Minneguy