Vented tunnel or surface drive

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Vented tunnel or surface drive

Postby 887 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:28 pm

I hunt up and down the Chesapeake bay and feeder rivers. Looking at purchasing a new boat and can't decide on the right set up. I have no experience in either one so give the pros and cons. I'm considering a vented tunnel with a prop on a jack plate or a surface drive mud motor. I want the to run skinny when needed but feel safe coming back across open water with a 1-2 foot chop.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
hunter

Re: Vented tunnel or surface drive

Postby gearhead80 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:46 pm

Well 1-2 foot chop really wouldn't be a big deal with either in the correct boat. What size boat you running or looking to run? Does speed matter? How far are you running? How deep is it? What kind of bottom? How much load?

I'm a personal fan of a tunnel over a SD. Tunnel with the largest outboard on it will suit a lot more situations IMO than a surface drive. I run a tunnel and I will never own an aluminum boat without one. People can't believe the things it'll do and the places it goes.
If I ask a question, I don't want your opinion. I want facts.
Don't tell me something you think, tell me something you know.
It's easier to say I don't know, than make something up.
Although, being a forum the next guy will know more no matter what.
gearhead80
hunter

Postby T Man » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:32 pm

gearhead80 wrote:Well 1-2 foot chop really wouldn't be a big deal with either in the correct boat. What size boat you running or looking to run? Does speed matter? How far are you running? How deep is it? What kind of bottom? How much load?

I'm a personal fan of a tunnel over a SD. Tunnel with the largest outboard on it will suit a lot more situations IMO than a surface drive..