number of duck decoys to use in a field

For those who enjoy duck hunting in the fields, this is the place.

Moderator: Skyblaster7

number of duck decoys to use in a field

Postby duckweed » Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:43 pm

i am new to the sport and i was wondering what the efficient number of decoys would be for 3 people.

thanks

:umm: :toofunny: :laughing:
BUY A GUN, PISS OFF A LIBERAL!
duckweed
hunter

Postby h2ofwlr » Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:26 pm

2 dz min per hunter IMO. I like to use 50+ by myself. Often I use CA goose decoys in conjuntion. If using a bunch of FB CA at same time often 2 dz will suffice. But if only 9 FB Ca goose, them I'll set 50+ for the late season Mallards we get up here where I hunt.
The Audacity of Bull Crap.
"Typical: Gun-loving, bitter bible-thumping white person" Barack Obama.
Hey I resemble that comment!!! Those are FIGHTING WORDS!!!
h2ofwlr
Forum & State Moderator

Postby Brett Beinke » Fri May 06, 2005 12:35 pm

Depends. If you use a spinner (or more) then you do not need very many. If you do not use spinners than larger spreads will provide better action for you. If there are no geese using the fields you hunt you may want to leave them back and add more ducks. I have seen ducks stay away from field spreads of goose decoys especially when they are getting hunted hard. There are now many options for field duck hunting and numbers do help!
Brett Beinke
hunter

Postby Tyler Ellenson » Sat May 07, 2005 2:38 pm

More often then not a spread of 450 snow windsocks will kill the ducks even if there isnt even a snow goose for hundreds of miles.
Tyler Ellenson
hunter

Postby take EM' close » Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:18 pm

Brett Beinke wrote:If there are no geese using the fields you hunt you may want to leave them back and add more ducks. I have seen ducks stay away from field spreads of goose decoys especially when they are getting hunted hard.