another newbie

A place for women who love the outdoors to meet and discuss things important from her prespective.

another newbie

Postby dragonfly » Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:33 pm

Hello i am new here my husband found the forum he just got in to goose hunitng and duck hunting this year with a friend of ours and he is wanting me to try to go some time i love to shot but have never been duck hunting. last saturday we had a women on target class we paied to get in and they taught us the proper way to handle rifles,revovlers,and semi-automatics, i already knew because my husband taught me but i learned while i was there i always thought i was right eyed dominet but i learned i was left and when i started shooting left sided i really improved, and then we went and had lunch and then we started shooting clay targets my first time we where using a 28gauge and i was having a lot of fun. my husband want me to try to start shooting a 12gauge does anyone have any suggustion about a good one to learn on i am scared of the kicking as i am small 5'1". thank you for your help and i am sorry i did not mean to write a book.
Dragonfly
dragonfly
hunter

Postby okiequacker » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:20 am

hi, welcome. Your gun choice for least amount of recoil will be a semi-auto. Gas operated being the better. Depending on the money you have to spend, the top end would be Benelli, Browning, Remington. Pumps and over/unders will kick more. The gun also needs to fit you. different length's on the stock will make your gun lay differnent when you shoulder the gun. Have a gun shop fit you. BTW, my wife shoots a Benelli 20ga auto. I love that gun. She does a great job duck hunting with it. Most shots are no more than 20-30 yards anyway. So, if you don't want to have the added kick of a 12, a 20ga does the job. Good luck!
Tom Cook
Born and raised in Arkansas flooded timber!
okiequacker
Forum & State Moderator

Postby dragonfly » Tue Sep 18, 2007 4:01 pm

thanks for your advice i really appreciate it