Flocking

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, fowlhunter, Remman, DUKHTR

Flocking

Postby Duck Nasty » Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:25 pm

What places do you guys like to buy your flocking from?

I've looked at flockit.com and saw all the color choices

For the mallards I was going to use the mallard green feather brown and white

For the bluebells black and white

For gads the feather brown and charcoal.

Any of you guys used them or any of these colors? This is my first time flocking and don't want to buy too much and have a lot of waste if the colors aren't right. Any pointers on the colors would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Duck Nasty
hunter

Re: Flocking

Postby John O`Neal » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:02 pm

Aero Outdoors supplies quality flocking materials in kit form or bulk. Their color coded glues are purpose built for the application . They are as rugged as they are realistic . You can`t go wrong with their product . I have personally used them with great success.

JOHN O`NEAL
John O`Neal
hunter

Postby woodduck31 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:28 pm

I use 4 colors of flocking, feather brown, goose grey, black and white. All nylon and I get them from Flockit. All the other color is added with airbrush.

for mallards I use feather brown for hens, goose grey, feather brown and black flocking for drakes.

for bluebills, white and black for drakes, feather brown for hens.

for gadwall, goose grey, feather brown and black flocking for drakes, feather brown for hens.
woodduck31
hunter

Postby Duck Nasty » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:05 pm

Thanks guys

Woodduck. That is very impressive. I have noticed that when I was searching through the posts. How does the airbrush color hold up with heavy use. I have my airbrush from my taxidermy hobby and would enjoy painting them just curious about the wear with that paint compared to flocking with different colors
Duck Nasty
hunter