SB317, NEED YOUR HELP

The eastern side of the nation has some of the best hunting. Share your West Virginia duck hunting tips, tactics, insights and information.

SB317, NEED YOUR HELP

Postby WOODIE13 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:28 pm

SB317 update: We believe we have a final amendment that will likely pass the Senate late this afternoon or tomorrow. After that, if it passes the House intact:

- No city will be able to have or keep a firearm registry, a 3 day wait, or limit handgun purchases to one per month.

- No city will be able to use 61-7-14, claiming to be the “owner” of city property and as such, possess the right to prohibit carry as Martinsburg has done.

- No city will be able to regulate carry on city streets and sidewalks, parks, and other open-air areas of city property unless the city blocks parts of its streets or sidewalks for a fair or festival. Then, if it chooses, it can only regulate carry of firearms by someone who does not have a CHL only on those streets or sidewalks.

- Cities, if they choose, will be able to regulate carry in city halls, municipal courts, and municipal administration buildings.

- No city may ban licensed concealed carry in a city owned rec-center as long as the firearm is kept on your person, or secured, and out of public view (Don't leave your gun laying in a towel and then go jump in the pool leaving it unattended so some kid can grab it up.)

- If you inadvertently carry into an area a city is allowed (and chooses) to regulate, you have not committed a crime until you refuse/fail to leave the property with the firearm. This is in line with current handling of posted private property.

- A city must conspicuously post signs in any building it chooses to regulate.

- This bill has teeth. If a city violates the law and individual or group may challenge the city's ordrinances and reclaim reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs. (This is huge.)

-----------------------------------------------------------------
From WVCDL:

We are at the Goal Line. Final Push!
Thanks to your calls and emails, SB317 (one state, one law) made it over a major hurdle. But we are not finished. We cannot rest on our laurels. The fight is not yet won. SB317 now sits in the House Judiciary Committee. This Wednesday is its last opportunity to pass committee. If we do not act, it will die silently in Tim Manchin's committee.

We have to keep pushing. Be polite. Be professional. Being abusive or rude hurts our cause. But make the calls and send the emails. (Yes, both) The message is "Please pass SB317 without ANY changes." Both email and call. If they do not answer, leave a polite, professional, but firm message.

House Judiciary members:

Tim Manchin (D-Marion)
(304) 340-3252
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Mark Hunt (D-Kanawha)
(304) 340-3392
mhunt@markahunt.com

John Ellem (R-Wood)
(304) 340-3394
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha)
(304) 340-3275
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Michael Ferro (D-Marshall)
(304) 340-3111
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Barbara Fleischauer (D-Monongalia)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Linda Longstreth (D-Marion)
(304) 340-3124
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Dana Lynch (D-Webster)
(304) 340-3916
dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov

Mike Manypenney (D-Taylor)
(304) 340-3139
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Justin Marcum (D-Mingo)
(304) 340-3126
justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov

Clif Moore (D-McDowell)
(304) 340-3189
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson)
(304) 340-3248
stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Isaac Sponaugle (D-Pendleton)
(304) 340-3154
isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov

Danny Wells (D-Kanawha)
(304) 340-3287
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Cindy Frich (R-Monongalia)
(304) 340-3125
cindy.frich@wvhouse.gov

Bill Hamilton (R-Upshur)
(304) 340-3167
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Eric Householder (R-Berkeley)
(304) 340-3274
eric.householder@wvhouse.gov

Woody Ireland (R-Ritchie)
(304) 340-3195
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

J.B. McCuskey (R-Kanawha)
(304) 340-3183
john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

John O'Neal (R-Raleigh)
(304) 340-3164
john.oneal@wvhouse.gov

John Overington (R-Berkeley)
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

John Shott
(304) 340-3187
john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell)
(304) 340-3175
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov
WOODIE13
hunter
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:57 am
Location: WV


Return to West Virginia Duck Hunting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests