Possibly moving to Texas

Some of the best waterfowl hunting in the nation. Learn and share your experiences duck hunting in the Republic of Texas. From the Canada geese of the Panhandle to the Snows of Houston and estuaries for ducks on the coast and the livestock impoundments to the west.

Moderators: HENDU3270, whistlin_wings, DoubleBayou

Possibly moving to Texas

Postby asmythe32 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:44 am

Hello everyone. I currently live in illinois but have an opportunity to take a job in texas and I am seriously considering it. I love the hunting here but dont want to give it up just because I move to a place where I dont know anyone. Couple questions I have. Are there public hunting opportunities in Texas? Will I need a boat for most or all of them? I have all the decoys I need and I also have the rest of the gear I need as I have been doing this for 10 years now. I just can't live in this God forsaken state anymore and make crap money and get taxed to death. The job would not let me hunt a lot but it is also not something I am going to do forever. Any info on the state you can give me is appreciated.
asmythe32
hunter

Re: Possibly moving to Texas

Postby :-) » Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:58 am

Depends on where you're moving to in Texas. We don't have much public land so what we do have can get crowded.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
:-)
hunter

Postby asmythe32 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:30 am

We would probably live around the Austin area. Job is in south texas. Do you get more birds in east texas than other parts?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
asmythe32
hunter

Postby :-) » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:49 pm

I wouldn't really say more birds, but there are more mallards.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
:-)
hunter

Postby asmythe32 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:34 pm

really? I thought you guys got a lot of pintails down there. Either way it would be worth it. I would probably only get to go a couple times a year with this job
asmythe32
hunter