guntersville divers?

Discuss Alabama duck hunting and more.

Moderator: David

guntersville divers?

Postby hogjaw » Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:54 pm

anyone know how diver duck hunting is on guntersville? im new to duck hunting and was wonderin if it would be worth my time and money to try to get into diver duckin in that area or would it be better if i just kept chasin the gadwalls? info? where to hunt? (no secrets i dont want those so dont clam up on me) lol. how to hunt and best dekes to put out? info? thanx!
hogjaw
hunter

Postby BamaFowler13 » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:29 pm

I've hunted Guntervilles a few times but never have any luck. Everyone i talk to that have shot divers say they use coot decoys, "lots of coot decoys". If you do plan on hunting divers i would suggest hunting out of a boat in the middle of the lake as opposed to off the bank.
BamaFowler13
hunter

Postby David » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:54 pm

Looks like it would be a short hunt. One bluebill and no Cans is what it looks like our season is going to allow.
ImageImageImage
David
Lefty

Postby tripleCBoykins » Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:28 am

Save some of those ringers for us. We have to have something other tham woodies!
Hunt with Boykins
tripleCBoykins
hunter

Postby ALMODUX » Sat Aug 23, 2008 3:24 pm

jd_odell* wrote:Actually, the diver hunting on Lake Guntersville is pretty solid. There are specific areas that consistently hold large numbers of divers every year. Ringers, bluebills, red heads, and cans are common in these specific areas. I'm disappointed about the cans this year, but there will be other opportunities!

Cheers!

There we go...internet scouters, here's your bait. :help:
:hammer:

Hogjaw,

Folks might be glad to help you out with where divers might really be so long as you don't do it on the open forums. :biggrin: Just ask around....since you're in Boaz, you can just talke to other hunters. I hear one kid from Boaz guides for canvasbacks....he's your guy....maybe he can guide for coots now?