Early Canada Geese and Ponds?

A waterfowl discussion forum focusing on Kansas duck hunting.

Moderators: T Man, Mallyard, dukhntr, yellowlab

Early Canada Geese and Ponds?

Postby Fowlphile » Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:27 pm

So I managed to get permission to hunt a pond that is close to a lake. The farmer asked if I liked killing Canadas... from this point it was easy to get permission. He said that the geese were always feeding on his crops right around the pond. I've never hunted geese in Kansas (this is my first year here) but I was hoping that some of you might have done this up around NE Kansas and could give some advice. I suspect the way I hunted geese is quite a bit different than what gets the job done here. I've only got a dozen goose shells; lost my roomates and most of my goose spread when I graduated and moved, my roomates were my hunting buddies and we pulled our dekes to make it half way decent. The pond is small but it is likely where I'll be Sept 3. Any advice welcome. Anyone wanting to do some hunting in the area? Maybe we can hook up and shoot us some honkers.

So to sum up my situation:
1 60yd X 40yd pond
2 ~1/2 mi from waterfowl refuge on the lake
3 Pond appeared to have soy beans around it (but farmer talked like there had been wheat at times)
4 There is a bit of a sunning area surrounding pond
5 A few small bushes for cover
6 Dozen flambeau shells as dekes

Any thoughts on what you do in this situation...
Yeah, well, sometimes nothin' can be a real Cool Hand. ---Lucas Jackson
Fowlphile
hunter

Postby woodie » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:28 am