Questions about Alabama Duck Hunting

Discuss Alabama duck hunting and more.

Moderator: David

Questions about Alabama Duck Hunting

Postby Griff017 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:49 pm

Hey Guys,

I am new to hunting ducks in Alabama. I have tried to find out about it before but never had any success. However this forum looked like a great place to help my find the answers to my questions.

Firstly, how does it work here. Do yall use ground blinds, hunt in boats only or a combination of both? I do all my duck hunting in Lousiana over flood rices fields in a ground blind. THere the small plant of land is leased and we sink the blind in.

Is there anything similar to that in Alabama. I guess that is my real question. Is there somewhere where you can lease blinds or land specifically for duck hunting or clubs where they do duck hunts. I live in Birmingham and dont my driving 3 hours or so to get to a place to hunt.

Reading around a bit, it seems most people just go down to pubic land on a boat to hunt. Is that the only way to hunt them here in alabama?

Thanks in advance
-Edward
Griff017
hunter

Postby tripleCBoykins » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:21 pm

You pretty much hit the nail on the head! Very few places are set up like the rice fields of the Mississippi flyway! Our basic set up is find a woody hole find some brush and get ready. Shoot for ten minutes pick up you 3 and head home! Best advice for consistent quality shooting," head west young man!"
Hunt with Boykins
tripleCBoykins
hunter

Exactly what he said ^^^^^

Postby whislinwings » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:49 pm

I've hunting North Alabama all my life. If you want consistent shooting without having someone set up 150 yds from you then go west.
whislinwings
hunter

Postby David » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:04 am

:welcome: to DHC.