Force fetch....Am I going too fast?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: HNTFSH, swampbilly 1980, hunt-chessies

Postby BearRiverBanded » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:54 am

So my dog is now 1 yr old and with a little more free time I have been working him more often. During retrieves he would drop the bumper 5 ft from me every time so I took the leap and decided to try force fetching him. This is my first time doing so and I have talked to a handful of trainers and watched a bunch of instructional videos.

My questions is Am I going too Fast??

I am currently on day 13 I have only ever had to actually pinch him 3 times other than that he reaches up, down, across the table, off the table, holds for as long as I say. We have even done some 10 ft fetch hold heel give drills and without hesitation he does it. He will also do ladder fetch and walk by the first bumper fetch the second heel hold give.

Long short of it he does exactly what I have asked and has needed very minimal correction.
BearRiverBanded
hunter

Re: Force fetch....Am I going too fast?

Postby Bluesky2012 » Sat Jun 06, 2020 9:18 am

Am I reading this right? Grand total you have pinched his ear 3 times? If so you’ve missed the point of force fetch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Bluesky2012
hunter

Postby BearRiverBanded » Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:43 am

You are correct. I believe he has learned how to turn pressure of by fetching what he is told to. I have also done a handful of retrieves as I normally would during training and he has yet to drop the bumper. He holds until I say give it.

Is that not the purpose? For him to learn how to turn off pressure as well as fetch and deliver to hand every time so far.
BearRiverBanded
hunter

Postby Bluesky2012 » Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:57 am

In 3 times he hasn’t. You’ve taught him to “fetch”, but he’s definitely not force fetched.