steel or bismuth

From the Berkshires to Cape Cod, Here is the place for the Bay State waterfowler to discuss and share their Massachusetts duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: HeritageHunter, MIKE J., JoeP

steel or bismuth

Postby Maurry » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:43 am

I am curious to learn what loads people are using? Bismuth is so pricey...is it worth it?
Maurry
hunter

Re: steel or bismuth

Postby AvianAddict » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:55 am

Maury, I recently started shooting bismuth this year. I haven’t shot enough birds to know how much better it is but it does give me more pattern density. This is my third season with the 20 gauge and I can’t get anything bigger than 4’s to pattern well. If I’m shooting a woody hole or know shots are in 20-25 yard range I’ll shoot steel 4’s but more often than not the mallards skirt at 30 yards and there always seems to be geese around and I’ve killed them with steel 4s but would like something with a bit more power. I bought a case of Boss Copper plated bismuth 4’s and so far so good, there are 172 pellets in the 1 1/8th load. They come out to be about $1.18 a shot. I don’t shoot all that much so another 60 cents a shell isn’t a big deal. I get very good patterns and the bismuth 4’s are pretty much the same as steel 2’s.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AvianAddict
hunter

Postby Maurry » Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:20 am