New to Butte

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

New to Butte

Postby LAduckwhisperer » Wed May 27, 2015 6:34 pm

Hello fellas. I'm new to the Butte area. I'm an active duty Marine and looking for some areas to hunt for the 2015 season. A little hunting background on myself. Grew up hunting the Mississippi River Delta at the bottom of the Mississippi Flyway. Hunted normally out of pop up boat blinds on mud boats. The action was normally fast. I provided guide services also. I'm actually on here to possibly meet some folks to hunt with or do some big game hunting. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
LAduckwhisperer
Newb

Re: New to Butte

Postby HaydenHunter » Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:22 am

Can't help you with hunting in Butte as I am in the Idaho Panhandle. But welcome to the West. Have spent some time in the Mississippi delta myself and I have to say I love the west more. Get some warm clothes. You'll need them. But I think you will enjoy hunting birds at the top of a flyway instead of at the bottom.

If you are in Butte and haven't been to Fred's Mesquite Grill yet check it out some time for lunch or dinner and thank me later.
HaydenHunter
hunter

Postby Deer Lodge Josh » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:46 pm

Was in butte for 8/9 yrs. currently selling my house there. Have property by deer lodge I hunt on. Plenty of public land from rivers to marsh and lakes. Not a huge duck area. But when birds migrating through it can be amazing. I am out of state mostly for work lately. Drop me a private message and will help where I can. I know it can be tough in a new place. FWP has good info too. Will be a big change. All depends on ice up and weather.
Deer Lodge Josh
hunter

Postby brandon.miller.4 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:20 pm