Western Montana

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

Western Montana

Postby Luke WL. » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:04 pm

Hey All. I dont expect to get any concrete answers but some insight would be great. I am a photographer that lives in Islamorada (florida keys) and travel a bunch for work. I have spent a bunch of time in western montana and was lucky enough to recently be able to purchase a bit of land just west of Trout Creek. Mostly plan on big game but I have recently started waterfowl hunting. I am wondering how the hunting out that way is? Can you hunt Noxon Res? I am planning on being out there late August thru end of October but can extend that a bit if it would be worth it. I do have a creek and a bit of marsh on my property, hoping I will get lucky and have ducks on it!
Luke WL.
hunter

Re: Western Montana

Postby Luke WL. » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:35 am

Let me try something else. Is there a chapter of DU nearby? Does anyone like free beer and lobster? I'm driving up from the keys late August and would love to grill up a few Florida lobster and drink a few beers if I can ask some general questions. I feel like it will be very different from Florida.
Luke WL.
hunter

Postby huntfishnv » Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:25 pm

I'm sure there will be birds around your place for at least part of the hunting season. Only problem is there is about 20 different trout creeks in Montana, are you referring to the one that is a tributary to the Bitteroot?
Nick Roehl wrote:Everything I say is so damn good you need to quote it for your signiture.

Un-expect the expected
huntfishnv
hunter

Postby Luke WL. » Wed Mar 09, 2016 6:33 pm

Trout creek is the name of the town. It is just west of Thompson falls (north/central west Montana). Looking for people to hunt with as well! I just got a puppy I am training, I doubt she will be full hunt ready this season but I will be working her a bit.
Luke WL.
hunter