Help me start a diver spread

This is the North Carolina duck hunting forum. A place to discuss duck hunting in North Carolina and other waterfowl.

Moderators: stumpjumper, NCSUDucker

Help me start a diver spread

Postby tobers » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:27 am

I hunt a lot in the middle part of the state but also want the ability to travel towards the coast. Up to this point I've just always used 1-2 dozen puddle duck decoys but I have a dozen worn out ones I want to paint and start a diver spread with.

If I'm hunting in the raleigh/Durham area and maybe the coast a few times a year, what should I be painting? Buffle heads? Red heads? Blue bill? Thanks for helping a complete beginner
tobers
Newb

Re: Help me start a diver spread

Postby HydeMarsh » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:23 pm

don't laugh but sometimes straight flat black works really well. paint them like bluebills and red heads.
HydeMarsh
hunter

Postby Dingbatter » Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:20 pm

You will need more than 1 dozen divers to have any success. I wouldn't even think of going out with less than 5 dozen, and you'll be better off with more.
Dingbatter
hunter

Postby echoduck » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:07 am

If you are only going a few times per year to the "coast", hire a guide. Spread wise i would recommend 150-300 blocks (25 dozen) this depends on the time of the year and the amount of birds on the sound. Mainly running blackheads with a few dozen cans/reds. You will need a sizable boat to handle this amount of weight. This will get very expensive. It is easier to pay a guide 150 bucks per day. You dont have to scout or buy all these decoys.
echoduck
hunter

Postby tobers » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:19 pm

Is it totally useless to hunt over two dozen? I gotta start somewhere. I realize it might not be ideal but is it a total waste of time?
tobers
Newb

Postby echoduck » Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:36 pm