Coot

This is the North Carolina duck hunting forum. A place to discuss duck hunting in North Carolina and other waterfowl.

Moderators: stumpjumper, NCSUDucker

Coot

Postby Jeffreysm21 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:12 pm

I am a die hard coot hunter; scoff all you may want but I have been putting in for the quota hunts for ten years and only got 4 draws we got a couple Pintail, widgeon and swan but no coot. Very disappointed. Does anyone know of anywhere other than the impoundments I can get some meat for some of my grandmothers coot stew? I have two dozen coot decoys and the few times I’ve been drawn it seems like the stupid Pintail are drawn to them. Any help is greatly appreciated. Trying to keep trash ducks from what I want.
Jeffreysm21
hunter

Re: Coot

Postby spots_2016 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:29 pm

Lake Waccamaw has tons of coots in it and alligators
spots_2016
hunter

Postby Jeffreysm21 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:54 pm

Problem is while retrieving coots there last year my dog buckingham IV got his leg bit off by a gator. He is still rather efficient but the trouble getting his name changed to Buckingham III through AKC was quite the ordeal
Jeffreysm21
hunter

Postby Mike the Fox » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:53 pm

This has the makings of a good thread! Tell me, what else is in nana’s stew? And I want to hear more about buckingham 33 and a third.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Mike the Fox
hunter

Postby DuckMauler » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:59 pm