Switch to full site
A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.
Post a reply

Electric longtail?

Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:38 pm

Anyone see the new Backwater electric longtail? A very interesting concept, and one that might be popular in certain areas.
Last edited by mudpack on Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Electric longtail?

Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:54 am

What is this mudpack at tease, pictures, link

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Tapatalk

Sun Jul 19, 2020 7:19 am

There's a tiny blurb and photo on their Facebook page.

I've been talking to BW about this for several months and from what Jake says, mine will be ready to ship very shortly.
:biggrin:

Sun Jul 19, 2020 7:43 am

I didn’t see it on their website. More details and price please

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Sun Jul 19, 2020 8:19 am

I can't find it on their website, either....just on FB.

I'm not sure how many details BW wants disclosed at this point, so I'm not going to say at this time.
I'll email Jake tomorrow and see if he has information he wants made public.

I can tell you this: after speaking with him about this unit, I told him I want the first one and sent him a check. :biggrin:

Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:33 am

Would no be hard to make one. Gulf cart motor,long tail kit done. They do it all the time on sm outboard mid section and gearcase. Biggest bitch is all the batteries weight.

Fri Jul 24, 2020 1:39 pm

I saw it in the latest edition of Waterfowler magazine. How much will it be? A friend of mine has a boat where this could come in handy.

Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:58 am

fowlmouthed wrote:I saw it in the latest edition of Waterfowler magazine. How much will it be? A friend of mine has a boat where this could come in handy.

Projected price is around $3700.
That's without batteries.

They told me they would have a Lihtium-Ion battery pack available soon, but its cost will be considerable.