Gaep Crimp Finisher

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, pennsyltucky, NV Guide

Gaep Crimp Finisher

Postby KJMT » Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:54 pm

Would surely be appreciative of link to any info on use of Gaep Crimp Finishers i.e,drill press speed,time of contact with hull,pressure etc. I am new to them but have heard they put on a nice consistent finish....waiting for back order so good time to have it somewhat figured out I hope.
It has been quite awhile since I’ve been on the site but believe I saw a post that stated “ The late,great BT Justice”...hopefully I am mistaken but if not would be thankful for any info on his passing....had a lot of respect for and learned some crafty things from him.Thanks,Ken.
KJMT
hunter

Re: Gaep Crimp Finisher

Postby C M Wings » Wed Oct 14, 2020 4:15 pm

Every time I reference Joe I give him that respect - The Late Great BT Justice.

Joe died earlier this year - apparently from a prolonged illness. He was always willing to help guys on this forum and gave away data he spent a fortune to develop and collect. He is missed.

As for the Gaep, you can use a drill, but you really need a drill press. You set it at the finished length of your hull and apply the finisher. I use a higher speed, with a shot of WD-40 every few hulls to keep it well lubed. I just apply quick but steady pressure and it cleans up crimps nicely. There are different one, the #4 seems best for steel reloading. Be advised that it will increase your pressures - so guys like 3200 recommend dropping powder charge 1 to 1.5 grains.

Hope this helps.
Last edited by C M Wings on Thu Oct 15, 2020 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ducks
C M Wings
hunter

Postby Dave in AZ » Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:20 am

I think Joe's passing has really impacted this forum. Waaay fewer threads this year. He was a big part of my daily forum enjoyment, more than I knew at the time.
Dave in AZ
hunter