Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you ever hunt ducks with a muzzel loader? If so what do you use for shot and how much powder, type of wads and shot cups? I'd like to try my single shot Traditions 12 ga. out on some blacks & mallards.

Keep the sport alive take a kid hunting/ fishing.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I've never tried it before, but it sure sounds like it would be an interesting challenge. The hardest part would be in keeping all your powder and wads dry I guess. It would have been easier to use black powder before they enforced the non-toxic shot laws because you would have been able to use lead. Do you think you'll get enough FPS out of steel from a muzzle loader to successfully kill ducks?

·
Registered
2,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think that with 110 grains of powder I should be able to generate about 1150 fps to 1200 fps. I'll have to chronograph this to make sure, if it does and I hunt over decoys keeping my shots at 25 yrds or less it should work provided I use #2 or larger shot. Sure would help if someone else had done this and was willing to share their findings. But like to be challenged.

·
Registered
100 Posts
hhehe i was gonna do that so i could shoot lead....LOL..but then i found out it dont matter...ya gotta use steel shot here, even in a muzzleloader... make sure if ur shootin steel tho..that your ML will handle it..?? also.. cant remember where but ya hafta find out...id think you could just load the ML with the same reloading as conventional shells are loaded... that would be tho up to the manufacturer of your ML....ya know..??? so you need to check with ur gun manufacturer......

·
Registered
2,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·