Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to duck hunting, started a couple years ago with a couple of friends that go. My problem is that they don't go enough! I'm starting to get myself outfitted little by little and I'm looking at decoys now. My question is how many decoys should I buy? What different kinds are best? I hunt a mix of open water and timber. Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
82 Posts
it really depends on where you live, hunt and how you hunt. for open water i use 2 - 3 dozen mallard, a dozen green wing or blue wing teal and some sprig drakes and a couple hens on the outskirts. Try some duck butts and sleeper mallards too

·
Registered
2,183 Posts
Depends on the pressure too. We will throw out a whole bunch or very few depending on how the ducks are acting that week. As for species, what ever is natural to your area. I have GWT and mallards. Going to buy some widgeon and gaddies too.

·
Registered
3,108 Posts
Way too many unknowns to give you a good answer.

Public or private?

Flooded fileds or timber or Sloughs?

Big or medium water or pothole?

Species you are after. Which frequent the area?

Using a boat or walkin in?

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I hunt whatever I can get into.
Typically I hunt Public ground so it's getting a fair amount of pressure. I hunt flooded timber, flooded fields, and open water. As far as location, I hunt North and Central Missouri. I sometimes have access to a boat to wak in with. Thanks and I hope this helps with any answers.

·
Registered
3,108 Posts