Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a Brittany that wasn't a great pointer when we bought him, but through paitience I have got him to point and hold to an extent. He'll retrieve anything you shoot and loves water, so I use him as a duck dog. When I make him lay still in a field, he acts like I am nuts and it looks like he thinks we should be quail hunting. Never had this problem when hunting water. If I make him lay still with us in a field, will that ruin him from quail hunting?

Thanks,
Matt

·
Registered
507 Posts
I am not an expert, but I think after awhile the dog would know what you are hunting for. Or maybe just leave em in the truck when you hunt out of a field.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
My lab is a duck/upland dog. If we're hauling decoys and she can smell the marsh, she knows what we're doing. But if we are just walking through feild after feild she knows that she's supposed to run ahead and point the birds.. After a while she/he will get the hang of it.. One time we were out duck hunting and this nice rooster flew over the dike behind me about 45 yards off... I slipped in a goose load and droped him dead in his tracks... My dog saw it fall and when she went to go retreive it she walked right past it, she was looking for the duck... Finaly she picked up the sent and brought it back with a confused look in her eye.. :toofunny:

Mallyard

·
Registered
961 Posts
i am the same as mallyard i own a pointing lab and they cauch on really quick. dogs are very smart they know what is going on. i mean if you are out just jumping pounds then they might tend to hunt out in frount but that dosen't bother me and some times if you are lucky you can be walking out to a pound and get a point on a covey of quil or two.

·
Registered
41 Posts
OK i would teach him ( whoa) you can use the whoa on upland and water fowl and the down would be good for field,,,,,

:thumbsup:

·
Registered
6 Posts