Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys I'm buying a 16 foot v bottom boat that needs be good for hunting and fishing. I'm planning on tearing it apart and rebuilding it. I need to know what paint to use, how to make the layout and, how to build a blind. This is my first time trying this so help me out if you have any genius ideas.

thanks fellas

·
1,456 Posts
dukkilr6,sounds like a great project.How about some more info about the boat.
Is it fiberglass or aluminium,makes a difference when it comes to paint and preparation.
What make and model?Might be helpful if someone else here has worked on the same kind of boat.
Are you going to have a mostly open boat or do you plan on having enclosed areas?
Blinds on a boat can be as varied as the guys who build and use them and can be made from a variety of material,wood,pvc pipe,steel or aluminium conduit.
Lots of options,especially if you start from a basic hull as you stated.
Let us know what you got and maybe we can give you some help.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The boat is a 16 foot 1960's aluminum crestliner. It has three bench seats and a small seat in the bow. The seats are all brand new marine plywood. It is a well built boat, and I think its as good as any new aluminum boat of the same type. Its just been sandblasted down to bare metal. I want to put bow and stearn lights in. a floor, depthfinder, trolling motor in back, a blind, a livewell, and some kind of storage compartment. Hows that for a list. I dont know how I'm going to fit it all in there. any help is appreciated.

Thanks

·
1,456 Posts
To paint the hull you want to make sure it is clean,no dirt or residue.Give the hull a good wash and rinse and let it dry.Wipe it down with Acetone and a rag(do it in a very well ventillated area-outdoors is the best )