Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My question for all of you experts out there, is E-Collars a must in training? I have a 4 month old lab and she seems to be doing pretty good in her trainining so far. If they are a must when should they be introduced? I guess I am a little nervous about useing them on her, I have never used one before. So far, a stern voice and a pat on the rear seems to get the point across to her. Any advice would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not see the earlier post on E-Collars before I asked my question. Then after reading my question again, I really did not like how I asked the question. I guess what I would like to know is at what point in training does one consider using an E-Collar. I understand that it is to be used to help enforce what the dog already knows, so would it be a last resort to start using one, if all else fails or should it be introduced at the first sign of problems?

·
Registered
279 Posts
I'm going to simply address the question as you originally asked it.

"E-Collars when and why?"

WHEN: As soon as the pup is physically mature enough to wear one without being encumbered by it, mine begin wearing one in training. At around 4 months old we CC-to-"Here". Only that command for now, and we do not pressure condition at that point.

WHY: The same reason any aversive enforcement is used in training. Tools of enforcement are used to apply pressure. We use pressure in dog training to change behvior. The best trainers don't use more pressure than needed, but also don't use less. By that, I mean they get the behavior change without nagging.

The e-collars of today are highly flexible, and all have one universal advantage over all other forms of aversive implements: timing. Timing is a big issue in dog training, either with correction or in the case of praise. Both are more effective when timed accurately.