Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just bought my first shotgun (Rem 870 Express Mag). I wanted to get a versatile gun that I can use for both turkey and waterfowl. I'm new to hunting and would like to know what you think about this purchase. Also, should I change choke tubes when hunting different species or does it even matter?

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
You probably got just the Modified choke with the gun. It's probably the "all-around" choke-kind of "jack of all trades, master of none." Generally speaking, you need more choke, up to full, for turkey and a looser choke for waterfowl. The different choke tubes are available as original manufacturer equipment. There are also a bunch of after market chokes that some guys swear by. I have the manufacturer chokes for my 870 and have never tried the various ones like Kick's, etc.

·
Registered
8,760 Posts
In the past the 870 express forcing cones were very rough with excessive tool marks. Honing the cone , not polishing, will improve patterns dramatically. I have honed 7 barrels for friends. You can buy 1/2" hones at any Auto part stores for about $10. Use WD-40 as cutting oil. The Rem Mod choke is a great all around choke. I like extend Light Mod for ducks and extended ImpMod for geese. Ned S who has 4 Rem shotguns but shoots a 935 and Condor mostly.

·
Registered
89 Posts