Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I am new at this so sorry if I make any mistakes. :oops: But I was wondering if any one could offer any advice as how to start duck hunting? I have never been, I don't know any duck hunters, and all I know is that I cannot wait to give it a try this year. :D Any advice would be great, what books to read, how to get lots of birds anything. Thanks

G

·
do like we all did, just jump in there.

really, i guess most of us were raised in a hunting family who loved to duck hunt among other things. if you really do not know anyone who duck hunts you will have to wing it.

first scout out a place to hunt. be sure to talk to the owner first if it's private property. if you are not familier with your area your first call should be to your local game officials. they can be very helpful in suggesting locations as well as helping you get started. be sure to follow your local game laws, the wardens will also assist you with this (one way or the other).
there are a few things you will need to get started:
you will have to pick up a new shotgun. while your at it, you might as well pickup a few dozen decoys, weights and string, a nice camo coat and bibs, some hip boots and waders, duck calls, lanyard, and practice cassette, case of shells, mojo duck, boat, motor and trailer, duck dog, blind and/or blind making material, camo hat, face mask, and gloves, a good alarm clock, 4-wheel drive pick up, and an understanding wife/girlfriend (optional). in about 5-10 years you should have most of this
stuff, then you can start buying new stuff all over again.

welcome to duck hunting..................

·
Registered
27 Posts