Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to waterfowling (1 season under my belt) and have never set up a field spread. I am planning to hunt a few fields next year and need some help.

I have 24 shells, 12 with motion steaks, 6 full bodies, 12 goose silos, 12 duck silos and a bunch of duck floaters that I can ake the keels off of. I'd like to set it up so that we could get geese and ducks in. There are only 3 shooters so our area of laying out is fairly small. We will be hunting cut corn and bean fields.

What have you guys seen that works? I'm probably going to pick up another 6 or 12 full bodies before next year to add to the spread too.

So what works? Pictures would be GREAT.

Thanks!!!!

·
Registered
419 Posts
When I go with 3 people we use about 2-3 dozen geese and 6 GHG FB ducks. We use mainly fb's (18 Big foots, 6 GHG's, and shells) with some good looking shells. When I go by myself I use my 6 GHG FB lesser's with motion stakes they look great and do the job. we set more or less a big spread out U with family groups making the U and 2 or 3 geese in the U. Then behind and to the right of the geese we set the ducks up I found SPW decoys scare the geese so if there are mainly ducks we use them if not we don't. We position the blinds in a family group close to the ducks and close to the center of the U.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Spinning Wing Decoys-MOJO's or Lucky Ducks