Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all was wondering if you could help me. I have a new pup...13 weeks .....and am wondering ahead of time what it takes to get into hunt tests and such. Could you tell me what I need to be able to have the dog do and at what age each step should be done at or by what age they need to be done by? Also what is the cost for these events and are there areas around me that they do these test.

Thanks!
Ryan
Morton, MN

·
Registered
215 Posts
Ryan,
Congrats on the pup and great to hear you are thinking about getting into the hunt test game! I am also a new trainer (my pup is 24 wks), but have been involved with my local retriever club and actually worked a dog thru Junior Hunt (JH) last summer, so I might be able to give you a bit of an idea of what is expected.

JH - 2 land singles, 2 water singles. Dog can be on lead while watching the marks go down. Basically, it doesn't have to be pretty, but as long as the dog brings the bird back, they will pass. I THINK(?) they have to deliver the bird to hand, but I'm not 100% sure. Three JH passes will get you a JH title.

My best advice would be to join the local retriever club in your area and get to know some of the people involved in the tests. Hopefully you can join in with some training groups from there. I won't go into SH or MH because you'll need to go thru JH first and by doing that, you will meet people who can show you what is expected of a SH or MH level dog. It's a big step from JH to SH.

As for ages, I'll be the first of many to tell you that your program will be tailored to your dog, not the other way around. JH can be run at 6 mths of age, but it is entirely dependent on where your dog is. In my case, my pup will be 6mths old shortly but is definitely not ready for JH, simply because there have been several feet of snow on the ground since December and so she has gotten no field training!