Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im new to the whole hunting dog thing and im fairly new to hunting. So i went to Phesant Fest hear in Omaha and w/o my parents knowing i bought me a black lab now i am wondering what things i will need ot train her and when the snow lets up im goin to build a large kennel. NO i do have a few questions.
-When she sleeps she yelps and crys how cn i get her to stop ( ive tried the radio and still trying it)
-What traingin supplies should i get
-When sould i first shoot over her or near her
-When to start her to swim in the water( Theres a pond nearby my home)
-How do u put the scent on a duck decoy thing and throw it n the air n shoot or what? n how will she no how to get it.

·
Registered
109 Posts
I assume your parents know now. There are alot of real knowledgeable guys on this site so you'll get lots of good advice but a couple of questions come to mind. How old is the pup? Is she/he going to be an inside or outside dog? Do you keep it crated at night? Pups will cry when they first get seperated from their litter mates they do get over it but you must let them know that this is where they sleep and it dosen't help if you keep checking on the dog every 15 minutes. You can try the old alarm clock trick. Putting a wind up alarm clock in or next to the dogs bed (it has to tick) the ticking soothes them and they should calm down. I think it also helps to crate them at night it gives them a nice secure place and that has a calming effect as well. Other than that work on obedience training that is the foundation for everything else. Everything else comes in time I think the worst mistakes I ever made with dogs was to try and rush the process. Take your time read and study all you can ( there are lots of books and tapes on training retrievers out there) on the subject and spend a lot of time with your dog. Good luck

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
-Crate training