Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm new to this sight and fairly new at hunting. I have a couple questions about placing my decoys:
1. I have 4 doz mallards and 1 doz teal and just bought 1 doz Bluebills. I quit putting the teals out this time of year, but was wondering if I should mix the blue's in with the mallards. If so, where at in the spread should I put them?
2. I've heard that divers should be put on stringers, is this true and whats the best way to rig them up?

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
First off, go ahead and throw the teal back out there. We have broke thick ice and still shot greenwings. Put the mallards in a group and put the bluebills in a group off to the side. Those black decoys are highly visible. Make a spaec in between the mallards and the bluebills for them to land.

·
Registered
27 Posts
if you never want tangled line in your bag just let me I tell you how to rigem so that isn't a problem :thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,091 Posts
It is called long lining for the divers. check out the diver forum-lots already posted there about it.

As for sperating them, good idea. if hunting a point-put the divers in the more open water area with the mallards in closer . Basically form a big pocket for ducks to land in in front of you. 10yds in min between them, 20 yds is better.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I HUNT LAKE ERIE I RUN MY DIVERS ON 140FOOT MAIN LINES AND PUDDLERS ON SINGLE LINES WE RUN AN AVERAGE OF 240 DEKES EACH OUTING LAYOUT HUNTING MAKE A TIGHT GROUP WITH YOUR MALLARDS AND A STRAIGHT LINE WITH YOUR BLUEBILLS LEAVE A LANDING ZONE FOR YOUR DUCKS :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,608 Posts
hunting with less then 2 doz divers......theres no need to put em on a main line.......just put em in a tight group away from the mallards.

·
Registered
883 Posts
I just picked up some GW teal dekes, do you guys mix em in with your puddle ducks, divers or off by them selves?

·
Registered
1,419 Posts