Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would appreciate some advice on what to buy.

Next month will be my first duck hunt (my two year old Chesapeake as well), and I'd like to make sure I gear up adequately (dog too), and hopefully reasonably priced. I definitely do not want to waste money on things I wont need, and I have zero experience with purchasing or using any of the gear I will need. Here's what I know:

1) Early to mid October, near Indian Lake NY, so temps will range between mid 50's to low 30's.
2) I'd prefer breathable waders that will keep me warm enough in those temps, but that I can also use year round, preferably bootfoot (not stocking).
3) I'm also going to need a mid layer, socks, and a jacket. Would greatly appreciate advice on what's reasonably priced that is decent quality.
4) I bought a MoMarsh Versa dog vest for my Chessie, I dont even know if he will need one, but it seemed like a good idea, and it looked like the easiest to get a good fit on him.
4a) He's a big dog, 95 lbs, any thoughts on what to have him rest in/on in the blind with us?
4b) I've trained him for two years to be a duck dog, and he's got three JH passes in akc hunt tests, but he runs SH setups regularly and does really well. Any advice on a first hunt with my dog?
5) I'm mostly going to be focused on duck calling and handling the dog, my buddy is doing most of the shooting, but we will trade off a little so i can get my dog used to me shooting over/next to him. Gun and (non toxic) ammo is already accounted for.
6) I'm sure I've missed a ton here, please feel free to tell me what I've overlooked and what else I need.

Thank you, greatly.
Dog Liver Dog breed Carnivore Plant
Dog Liver Dog breed Carnivore Plant

·
Registered
11,027 Posts