Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, new to the site, I'm a young fellar in HS yet and I'm pretty new to duck hunting. I usually just walk the creeks for woodies, but now they've all migrated. Now I am hunting ponds. I'll have about 30 mallard decoys after Chistmas, but I'm not sure how to rig them. Should I get the nylon decoy rope or the cord, what type of weights? I don't know a whole lot, but I do know I am going to be doing a lot of hunting, so I want to do it right. Thanks for the help! :help:

·
Registered
82 Posts
use that tanglefree line, the thick kind. get some six ounce weights that can wrap around the keel, i use about 4 feet of line and throw them out individually. (kinda deep water) i hunt puddlers but alot of people like to rig up divers on longlines. also i would get some pintail decoys they add some confidence to it pintails sretty skittish and the white on their chest can be seen from along way away.
good luck

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
i use the diamond braided line 1/8 thick. its in knutsons. if you are hunting a pond. you only need the line chest wader deep.i am assuming you use chest waders to set your dekes. you should get the ace decoy anchors. you probly only need the 4 oz ones. they wont come off the decoy in the bag. the lead straps that wrap around the keel or neck break after awhile.

·
Registered
598 Posts
I use tangle free line and I think it's great. Yea, you need to use cord crimps, they work great and only cost like 3 bucks for a pack of 24. I put one where the cord is attached and the keel and one at the weight. Never had a problem with line breaking or getting tangled. I use the strap weights that wrap around the keel or head.

·
Registered
27 Posts