Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,919 Posts
Do not chase him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never make it a game of catch-me-if-you-can. If you chase him down he will always do this. You need to do some more training off season. I do not use a e-collar, but will use treats for a beginner or for a new exercise and wean her off of them quickly in favor of alot of praise.

·
Registered
924 Posts
get an e-collar

·
Registered
19 Posts
Whatever you do don't use an e-collar, it will ruin a good dog. After the season is over with, work with your dog using a 30 or 40 foot, small rope. When you throw a bumper or frozen duck, send your dog out and pull him or her back gently to you with the rope. I'm not a expert trainer but it worked for me.

·
Registered
20 Posts
do not use an e collar this will ruin him i agree about waiting till seaon is over and using a small rope and maybe also a treat dont shock him till the VERY last resort

·
Registered
189 Posts
get an e collar, or you can take him to a pro trainer and he'll probably use one, there a very vaulable tool, any good dog or any dog at all, can use one without ruining the dog, it's the user that will ruin the dog, just as long as you condition him to it first, he'll be fine, you can use a check cord also, whenever one of my dogs doesn't come straight back, or doesn't come back fast enough, I use just a light nic and they know what it means, but if I were to light em up and make there eyes glow, they'd probably never pick up another duck, I'd look into one and get a book. there a invaulable training tool.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I hate it when guys tell you with authority not to use an e-collar, when they can be an extremely valuable training tool. These collars are best used to re-enforce what your dog already knows. It sounds to me like it would help to take your dog to a professional trainer, and have the dog 'force fetched' after he has had time to brush up the pups general basic obedience skills.