Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious. Hunting is usually a tradition handed down from each generation or between acquaintwnces, but is there anyone here that was essentially self taught through trial and error?

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Nobody in my family waterfowl hunts but me and my little brother. We only live 1/2 mile from the refuge, so it was pretty easy to ride our bikes and figure out what worked and what didn't. That was 10 years ago, and we have the game pretty well figured out now.

The reason my Dad doesn't waterfowl hunt is due to a bad experience on his only duck hunt. His Gradpa took them to the marsh and they got set up. Right at first light some guys opened up across the way and rained shot on them. His Grandpa said lets go and they left and he has never tried it since.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I would consider myself "selftaught". Nobody in my family had ever hunted waterfowl exept the occasional one they jumped while pheasant hunting. Thats were it started from for me, but I kept going. I remember buying my first dozen decoys when I was 17 and my dad saying to me "Why in the world are you buying decoys, you don't know how to hunt ducks". 5 years later, I still don't know everything about duck huntung but I do go quite a bit, and I even talk my Dad and my little brother into going every so often. I still have alot to learn but I seem to get alittle bit more successful every year.

·
Registered
100 Posts