Duck Hunting Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this forum and need some help.
I am thinking of taking up duck hunting and need to know a few things.
What is the best shotgun for the money? What guage?
I own an 11-87 sporting clays already but do I need another gun to hunt with. Do you have to use a dog? Like I said this is all new to me. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
290 Posts
yeah i agree for the money get a nova 3 1/2 or a Remington 870, if you wanna spend money ona semi auto i would go with the winchester super x2 3 1/2. I dont have adog but they do help, without one it is just alot more work, not that bad. You can get greenhead gear decoys for 25 a dozen as well and I like them they seem to hold the paint very well. Good luck and tell us what you decide. :welcome:

·
Registered
41 Posts
Welcome to the site. i've been hunting ducks for about 15 yrs. the first 6 without a dog, did'nt seem to bad, that is until i got a dog and realized how
much more i enjoyed the sport and how easy they made it. If you have a place to keep one and the time to spend with it i would invest in one, you wont be sorry, besides you'll never have to duck hunt alone again.
As far as a shotgun goes i shoot a winchester 1300 pump and stoeger auto
both work great, Good luck !!!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Do you have a "3 chamber on your clays gun? If you do, then use that gun with the modified choke. If you need a new firearm, I'd go with another 11-87 with a "3 1/2 chamber. As far as dogs & other equipment go, I think I'd wait & see just how well you like the sport. Try it for a season or two before you start to invest big money, duck hunting is kind of a love it or hate it sport because of the early hours & the equipment needed. I should know.....I'v been play'n the game for 33 years!

GOOD LUCK!!

·
Registered
2,182 Posts